1. Home
  2. Guidance
  3. Mahara
  4. Sharing Mahara portfolios for feedback 
  5. Sharing Mahara portfolios for feedback 

Sharing Mahara portfolios for feedback 

Published on: 30/06/2023 · Last updated on: 22/09/2026

How do students share their Mahara Portfolios with Tutors or Peers? 

Students will need to share their portfolios with others to receive feedback. From the Portfolios page students can access the sharing options via the Actions menu.

Students can use the Shared by me icon in the Main menu to review and manage existing sharing permissions.

Screenshot student view of how to share a portfolio
  1. Go to the Portfolios section. (1)
  2. From the drop-down menu in front of any portfolio, students select Share. (2)
  3. In the section Share with others, under the column share with, click on the drop-down menu and select search for person/group according with the instructions from your tutor.In the Search the name of the person/group and select it. (3)
  4. Finally click on Save.(4)
Screenshot student view of how to share a portfolio using Manage access second part

The person with access will now be able to view the Page or Collection shared with them and Add comments. 

How do students share with people outside the University? 

Students can share their Pages or Collections with people outside the University, such as prospective employers, subject specialists or external examiners, using a secret URL. This provides users who do not have an account on Mahara access to a portfolio without making work publicly available and searchable by search engines. 

Important: Be careful to ensure that students review the information they share in this way. For example, make sure they are not sharing personal data, breaking copyright or data protection rules. 

  • From the Portfolios page, in the Actions Menu students select Share.
  • Clicking the New secret URL button will generate a new secret URL. They can add as many secret URLs as you wish. 
  • Clicking the Copy button to copy the secret URL to the clipboard, they can then paste it into an email to send to somebody. 
  • Clicking the Delete button will remove the link and external access will cease. 
Was this article helpful?

Related Articles